Skip to content

A cool Deck @ the Chalet an the Lake !

November 30, 2013

The Best Custom Home Builder & Renovation Contractor in Schuylkill County, PA! We also build: Additions &

Bob Leiby

Bob “the builder” Leiby

Garages and do Restorations, Renovations, Consultations & General Contracting!

It’s all about delivering the finest in custom construction and the best in customer satisfaction. I have one “Rule”: “We will do whatever it takes to have NO unhappy clients”.  If you are thinking about building a home or an addition or just about any construction project, do your self a favor and Call Me to talk about your project. I’d love the opportunity to give you an estimate and discuss your plans.  I own and operate Summer Hill Building & Contracting, Inc. the Premier Home Builder of Schuylkill County, PA.

It is still financially better to own your own home than it is to rent, So Call Me ! I & my team can help find you another lot and build your dream home!

We have building lots in “Forest hills” development in Pottsville, PA.  Probably the last AFFORDABLE building lots in Pottsville.   Pottsville has a sewer permit moratorium in place as of right now but the sewer authority is working on it’s remediation & will be lifted at some point in the (hopefully) near future. BUT, I have a sewer permit available so we can get on to the adventure of building your new home right away !

Now, Hit the Deck!

     Ok, as you may remember, I had to build the frame of the deck way back before any siding or stonework was done.

Starting the "picture framed" AZAK Deck

Starting the “picture framed” AZAK Deck

I wouldn’t be ably to work on that very high, Flying gable with out it. So with deck frame already built I needed to lay-out the AZAK deck boards. I needed to make it fit the 15* angle on the lake side along with the width of the building @ 32′. That meant 16 foot boards wouldn’t  be long enough , (they needed to be over 17′ with the angle & I was to cheap to spend for 20 footers). The solution was a picture frame trim treatment for each side. This solved the length problem & gave me a way to hide all the ends with in the deck itself. SWEET !

Framing the stairs... still no screw or nail holes

Framing the stairs… still no screw or nail holes

I started using a hidden clip attachment system on my previous deck job and liked the results very much, so I am using this same system again. With it you see NO screws or nails. Great look!

     Once the deck itself was finished I needed to work on the stair system. I had the landing and both stair runs to build. I couldn’t use the blind clip method for the decking so I tried another system. This one uses special screws that drill their own counter sink hole. the kit comes with little plugs for the holes. Still not seeing any fasteners ! ( I used this system to attach all the hand rails also…& yet still no fasteners to see. 
    Now for the best part. The railing system.  As some of you know I am a sailor.

Decks getting there (psst. no screw holes)

Decks getting there (psst. no screw holes)

& I have worked around stainless steel wire rigging. We decided to use this kind of  “life line” system around this whole deck instead of the more common picket / baluster type of surround. We didn’t want anything to get in the way of the view down to the lake. (What is the use of having a great view if you can’t see it)! I found the cable and the parts on line and since I already had the cable cutters & the

A finished deck

A finished deck

swage fitting crimpers, it was just a bit of work to run the cables through the holes I drilled through the posts and put it all together with the turnbuckles (to adjust the tightness). I used the regular picket type system on the stairs & landing since no one will be to worried about this view.

Thanks for reading & following along on the face book .
“Bob the Builder” Leiby
No comments yet

Leave a comment