Skip to content

Dolman Deck …Complete &… W O W !

June 18, 2011

The Best Custom Home Builder in Schuylkill County, PA! We also build: Additions & Garages and do Renovations, Remodeling & General Contracting!

It’s all about delivering the finest in custom construction and the best in customer satisfaction. I have one “Rule”: “We will do whatever it takes to have NO unhappy clients”.  If you are thinking about building a home or an addition or just about any construction project, do your self a favor and Call Me to talk about your project. I’d love the opportunity to give you an estimate and discuss your plans.  I own and operate Summer Hill Building & Contracting, Inc. the Premier Home Builder of Schuylkill County, PA.

It is still financially better to own your own home than it is to rent, So Call Me ! I & my team can help find you another lot and build your dream home!

We have building lots in “Forest hills” development in Pottsville, PA.  Probably the last building lots in Pottsville.  Erica Ramos and her team at “Realty Executives” can help you find the right building lot for you . Pottsville has a sewer permit moratorium in place as of right now but the sewer authority is working on it’s remediation & will be lifted at some point in the (hopefully) near future so we can get on to the adventure of building your new home.

The Financing of your new home is an important decision and our mortgage broker, Nick Shestok at “Mortgage Network Solutions” can help you find the deal of a life time ! Great rates ( some below 5.0 %)    These rates are going up !

The Dolman Patio – Before & After !

Well, the Patio job was a few weeks ago. I’ve been very busy and not very diligent about bloging. So here’s the scoop. My clients had some infrastructure prepared for the deck. There was a block retaining wall and 2b stone under the deck location.

Before....

  • I started by installing galvanized anchor bolts about 4 of then for the 16’ deck. Next day when the cement holding the bolts was dry I installed a pressure treated sill plate over the block work.
  • Next I bolted a 2×12 x 16’ pt board on the concrete house foundation and attached a 2×3 pt stringer at it’s lower edge to act as a ledger for the coming floor joists. ( I really don’t like using joist hangers if I don’t have to- they rust and eventually get loose, a ledger board will not).
  • A finished Deck !

  • Then I installed the 2x10x16’ joists, overhanging the block retaining wall about 2’
  • Then cut all the joist free ends even & plumb and installed a 2×10 band joist.
  • Now I started installing the GAF Dura-wood composite decking material. This system uses clips slid in a groove along the edges of the 5/4 decking boards. This is a wonderful system; fast and NO FACE SCREWS!
  • Next we worked out the steps at the quad patio doors and installed the

    The Stair system going to those "Quad patio doors

    works.

  • Now the fun part, The rail system. My clients had a great view of a lake at “Lake Wynonah” so we decided to use a stainless steel cable railing system. This was a great way to get the safety they wanted without impinging on the great view.
  • We installed the 4×4 posts and a 2×6 cap rail then ran the cabling every 3 inched for the height of the system. A beautiful job if I do say so myself…and so does my wonderful clients:……

A close-up of the Stainless steel wire railing system

 “Thank you Bob!

You did an outstanding job with the projects you completed at my home. Beautiful craftsmanship, accommodating attitude, reliable and on schedule, and full of good ideas and determination, I am very pleased! 

Please feel free to use me as a reference in the future if you ever need one.

Thanks again for a job well done,

Marybeth”

Thanks for reading & following along, If you have any questions you can contact me from here at my blog site or come on over to my web site at Summerhill Building & Contracting, inc. Or at the “Build Strong” tab on this blog site!

Oh! and stop by  our “Face Book” page and  click the “Like” button to share us with all your friends. You never know which of your friends are thinking of building! You’ll be doing them and me a BIG favor !

Thanks for joining and “Keep on Building”

Bob ” The Builder” Leiby

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 18, 2011 3:26 pm

    Here is the next blog about the Patio Deck I built at “Lake Wynonah” along with some pics and a “Testimonial letter”

Leave a comment